One Day in Music City

IMG_2977

One of the last days of our road trip was spent in Nashville, Tennessee, and boy, did we have a great time. We rolled into Nashville from Gatlinburg around noon and headed straight for the Grand Ole Opry House to get tickets to the show. It was hot and muggy but we were glad to get out of the car and wander around a bit. It didn’t take us very long to secure tickets and a hotel room for the night. Once we got all the boring, technical stuff out of the way we moseyed on downtown to pay tribute to some of the biggest stars of music history at the Country Music Hall of Fame.

Looking at the roots of country music was such an experience. I took tons of pictures of different artist names and songs so I could put together a playlist to accompany this historic stop. What better way to talk about Music City than with music? I was intending to only do one playlist but as I began to chip away at the task at hand, I realized that one singular playlist maybe was not going to cut it. I had to split it into two. Everyone who knows me knows I am a diehard Swifty, so I have a hard time not including her in the playlists. But there isn’t anything I can do about her taking her music off of Spotify. Speaking of Taylor Swift (like I usually am), it was amazing to see some of the pieces of hers they had on display. I just about died when I saw the lyrics to Tim McGraw scrawled on a piece of notebook paper and the sparkling guitar from her first tour brought back memories of my first summers of CountryFest and Jam. I did more than just drool over Taylor, I promise. I tried to look at the artists I didn’t know as much about to diversify my country music knowledge. I really, really enjoyed the Bob Dylan exhibit: Dylan, Cash, and The Nashville Cats. It was amazing to see the influence that Dylan and Cash had on Nashville, they brought in a lot of people to Music City. I had no idea they were so influential in this scene. That particular exhibit is where I drew a lot of the songs for what was supposed to be the first half of the Country Music Hall of Fame playlist. It turned into this playlist. I personally believe that Cash and Dylan are a dream team and I wish I had more than just “Girl from the North Country” to prove it. But I’ve always had a soft spot for Johnny Cash, so maybe I’m biased.

The Country Music Hall of Fame is home to many talents, both new and old. I’m so happy I got to explore it even though country music isn’t necessarily the first station I check on my way to work.  To represent this lovely experience, I made a playlist. I know, I know. You’re all thinking ‘Lauren, cool it with the playlists, this is why it takes you seven years to talk about one day’. If you are thinking that you are absolutely right, it is why I took so long but I thought it would enhance the reader experience.

You might also believe that my musical experience peaked at the Hall of Fame, but that’s not how Music City works! After the Hall of Fame we went to the mall so I could find a sequel to The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. Unfortunately, the mall did not have a bookstore or electricity! Okay, so parts of it had electricity but it made it hard to purchase food (they could only take cash). I still haven’t gotten that book.

After that we rolled on over to The Grand Ole Opry House where I was more than pleasantly surprised with the show. Going in, I didn’t recognize a whole lot of the names and I wasn’t sure sure how long it would take to get through all those artists on the line-up but the Opry has quite the system. It was three songs per artist with an announcer and a couple miscellaneous activities to break it up. It was an excellent show with some very engaging acts. My absolute favorite was Flatt Lonesome, a lovely bluegrass band. I tweeted at them (and everyone else at the Opry) but that wasn’t the end of Flatt Lonesome for my night. Another amazing act was Drew Baldridge, who played at CountryFest the same day we returned. Baldridge was making his Opry debut that Wednesday night and for his final song on stage he covered a personal favorite by Josh Turner. What do you know, Josh Turner himself walked right on stage to sing with him. I was amazed. After the show wrapped up and we were headed out the door, Mr. Baldridge himself was right behind us. He shook my grandparents’ hands! It was crazytown.

Even though it was late, our night didn’t end there. Grandpa and I were hungry after the Opry because we had become accustomed to have to search for hours after a regular meal time because we can never find a restaurant. Our initial choice was Bob Evan’s, but that was closed, and thank goodness it was. We turned our attention to The Cracker Barrel. After I ordered corn and sweet potatoes, Grandpa returned from the restroom and pointed out the table on the other side of the restaurant. It was the band. In that moment I knew what I had to do. I went out to the car to retrieve the program and a pen, then went right up to their table and asked Flatt Lonesome if they would autograph it for me. They were super sweet and very funny. They claimed the only thing they have ever been asked to sign was a speeding ticket. Between their catchy tunes and pleasant attitudes, I was very happy to try and find another venue to see them at and I’m already looking forward to seeing them in East Troy in the fall. If you want to check out their music, my grandpa really likes “You’re the One”.

All in all, I had an amazing time in Tennessee. I am happy that I was able to make these memories with my grandparents. It was an experience I will never forget.

Leave a Reply

