Elemental by Antony John

img_1672

If you happened to have read the review I wrote previous to this one (Powerless by Tera Lynn Childs and Tracy Deebs), you will find that these stories are extremely similar. The predicament is kind of the same dealio. Thomas is really whiny because all his friends and family and everyone in the tiny village has some sort of elemental power and he doesn’t. One day, when a storm is rolling in, all the kids are sent to an island and all the adults are left to hold down the fort. When the children are away, BAM! pirates attack leaving all the island children to fend for themselves. Of course Thomas pulls through for everyone, it’s touching really.

In all honesty, I did like this book. Although it was super similar to Powerless, I liked the time period perspective better in this one. It is set in the future after a new version of the Plague wipes out the world as we know it (that’s what happens if you don’t get your kids vaccinated, folks!) the people in this book go back to living the way they did long ago. Evolution sure did help these guys out, giving them elemental powers sure did come in handy. Anyway, during this book, Thomas and the kids meet new people, form new bonds, and discover important, hidden information about the past of the island, all in an attempt to save the village from the pirates.

I’m going to give this book a solid three stars, maybe three and a half although my view might be a bit biased based off the fact that I feel like I read the same book twice in a row and I’m kind of bored of it.

Leave a comment