Far From The Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy

img_1627

Far From The Madding Crowd is mainly about Farmer Gabriel Oak and Bathsheba Everdene. Throughout the story they deal with many problems that I imagine where just a part of everyday life in the 1870’s and some predicaments that the townspeople didn’t encounter as often. Although it was written over a hundred years ago, it isn’t a book that isolates newer readers. I enjoyed Hardy’s realistic characters and understandable scenarios, even though I personally could not relate to Bathsheba and the other’s struggles, I understood and sympathized with them. This book is about love and life and I would say fate definitely has a part in this story.

I really enjoyed this book, like I said earlier, Hardy does a really good job of making this book timeless and enjoyable for younger generations. It reminded me (kind of) of The Little House on the Prairie  books that I liked when I was younger. It had that same kind of feeling to it, the feeling that you’re there on the old-fashioned farmlands with them even when, in my case, you’re a nineteen year old member of generation Z who will do anything in your power to avoid farms for the rest of your life. But that might just be me.

The characters in this book were awesome. I love Bathsheba, she literally does whatever she wants. She runs her deceased uncle’s farm as a woman in the 1800’s. Also, even though she is powerful and confident and maybe a little bitchy, she still falls in love and makes mistakes and has feelings. That’s important because often when you get a strong female she is too good for feelings, and when you take away what makes her relatable you take a lot of the depth out of the character. It was very cool to see this amazing female character written so long ago. Farmer Oak was an awesome character as well, although he doesn’t seem as real or relatable because he is almost too kind and patient. The supporting characters are all very interesting as well.

I would definitely recommend this one. It took a long time to get into, but it was worth it. A very pleasant read but I wouldn’t call it a page turner. Solid four stars.

 

 

Leave a Reply

