Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Faulkoff

IMG_0463

I suppose since I can’t sleep tonight, now would be a good time to tell all of you about the book I finished this morning after a long night of reading last night when I also couldn’t sleep.

Anywho, Playlist for the Dead was an awesome book. I really wasn’t sure what to expect from it but I was pleasantly surprised anyway. I loved the cover art, even if I think the title is a little bit corny.

This book deals with loss in a way that I haven’t actually seen before. A fresh perspective on something sad is rare for me because, as all of you know, I have a terrible attraction to books that make me want to cry. Playlist for the Dead is about a boy named Sam who is dealing with the loss of his best friend Hayden, after being the one to find him. Sam and Hayden always only had each other and after Hayden dies, Sam feels even more alone.

Okay, so that sounds like every single other book that has been written about someone losing a friend, but hear me out, you can’t lose someone you love and not feel like that. It’s the personalities of the characters and the means each one uses to feel normal again. It actually covers how every person involved feels like they are the one to blame.

At Hayden’s funeral, Sam stands up to Ryan, Hayden’s older brother who relentlessly picked on him. After that, Sam’s life gets even more hectic. He meets a strange a beautiful girl, Astrid, and begins to think Hayden is trying to communicate with him through a video game. Sam struggles to find new friends, get through school, and figure out why Hayden left him the playlist. When bullies start getting what’s coming to them, the whole school begins to suspect Sam and as much as I want to give you a play by play of what happens in this book, I want you to read it more so I’ll leave it at that.

I thought this was a really good story and had some very interesting plot twists, I definitely would recommend it to anyone who was as disappointed in I Was Here as I was. It won’t change your life (probably) but it is worth a read. Four Stars

Leave a Reply

