I Was Here by Gayle Forman

  
I will not lie, I was a little disappointed by this one. It’s a book about suicide and I did not tear up once. To be far I did not read it all in one sitting and I’m not sure if that impacts my attachment to the characters in the story. The idea behind the story in theory was very good but I wasn’t in love with the book itself. My expectations were probably too high because of how great If I Stay and Where She Went were. 

I finished this book while sitting on the hood of my car in the gorgeous sunshine and it really just didn’t fit the mood of the story. But really, as a reader it is not my job to force myself to feel for the characters. It is the author’s job to interest you and honestly with this book I just never really felt it, but I will tell you what it is about anyway.

Cody loses her best friend Meg to suicide after Meg goes to college and Cody is finishing  high school. Meg’s death comes as such a shock to her and Cody feels so guilty. While packing up Meg’s things and meeting her friends, Cody begins to realize how little she knew about Meg’s college life and she begins to discover some suspicious stuff. Soon she goes on a wild goose chase to figure out who made Meg do it. Honestly though, the end was predictable. 

Two stars.

2 thoughts on “I Was Here by Gayle Forman

Leave a Reply

