No Parking At The End Times by Bryan Bliss

IMG_0014

No Parking At The End Times is an apocalypse story like I’ve never read before. It follows a family as they deal with life after the apocalypse prediction.They sell all their belongings to live in van in San Francisco and wait for the apocalypse that doesn’t come.

Abby is patient, she doesn’t like living in a van but she is sure that they won’t stay forever and that everything will go back to normal. Aaron isn’t so sure. Every night Aaron sneaks out of the van and off to who knows where exploring the city streets with his new friends. He resents his father and Brother John for leading all those people to believe that the end of the world is coming.

Honestly, I never would have picked up this book if it wasn’t on sale but now that I have read it I am so glad that I did. Like I said, I haven’t read an apocalypse story like this and I have read quite a few in my day. I love that the kids took action despite their parents being bind to the situation. I felt bad for Abby and Aaron because they were nearly as homeless as the new friends they made. I liked reading a story that I would have never thought existed. All in all I thought it was a good read, I liked reading about the cult mentality that Brother John had going and about the struggles and victories of the kids.

4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “No Parking At The End Times by Bryan Bliss

Leave a Reply

