The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

IMG_1465

Jandy Nelson is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. She stole my heart with I’ll Give You The Sun and now I’m dealing with The Sky is Everywhere. Truthfully, I liked I’ll Give You The Sun more but I’m not saying that I didn’t really like this one.

Jandy Nelson doesn’t write stories that everyone in the world will fall in love with, she writes art. Some people won’t get it, but those who do will be moved by these books. I loved them.

The Sky is Everywhere is about a girl called Lennie who is dealing with losing her sister in an unexpected death. Lennie and her family (consisting of her strange grandmother and her hopeless romantic uncle) struggle to recover from the grief that lives with them since Bailey died. Lennie begins hanging out with Toby ( Bailey’s old boyfriend ) and things go from bad to worse. Lennie feels like Toby is the only one who understands and she feels very close to him. At school Lennie meets another boy who she is convinced is made out of sunshine. He makes her forget that anything ever happened. This story has love in it but it isn’t a love story, it’s a story about loss and friends and family and forgiveness.

I loved this book because of all the great characters. The musical geniuses that are the Fontaine brothers. Gram the Garden Guru and Big make up possibly the weirdest family I’ve ever met. The Half-Mom in the living room. There wasn’t a character that I didn’t think was great.

I really recommend this book. I honestly couldn’t put it down.

Leave a Reply

