The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp

I would first like to apologize for my absence. As I get closer to graduation, everything is getting extremely busy. Because of the hectic-ness of my life currently, The Spectacular Now was the perfect break.

I love the concept of the title. Living in the moment and loving every second of being young, I want that ability. However, I don’t think Sutter, the main guy, actually has the power to be in the moment. Sutter is drunk this entire book, and if he isn’t drunk he is high or buzzed. i didn’t actually like Sutter as a person, I think he’s got a good heart, but he isn’t someone that I would want to associate with.

Sutter begins the book with an infatuation with his large girlfriend, Cassidy. They party and get drunk and whatnot but Cassidy breaks it off because Sutter is not boyfriend material. Sutter is fun, he knows hoe to have a good time, but I don’t think he thinks about other people’s feelings. Through sheer luck Aimee finds Sutter while she is working her paper route. Sutter takes a sort of pity on Amy, she’s not pretty and she does everything for her family and her best friend. Sutter starts spending a lot of time with Aimee and kind of teaches her ways. All of Sutters friends urge him to leave Aimee because she is definitely not meant to be like him.

I was so taken by this book. It’s such an honest, sad, thrilling tale of being a struggling high schooler. I felt bad for Aimee and I felt really bad for Sutter because after everything he really did what was best for her. There was so much love and adventure and it kind of made me appreciate high school a little more, which is no easy task.

Check this book out, it was such a great way to gear up for prom.

Leave a Reply

