Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

Say What You Will is unlike anything I have ever read. I have never really read anything about people who have physical disabilities. Mental illness is much easier to find in YA literature than physical disability, and that is kind of sad. Say What You Will is about Amy, who has cerebral palsy and Matt, who is dealing with his own demons.

Amy has never really had many friends and in an effort to change that she hires kids her age to act like an aid. Matthew, Sanjay, and a few other students learn how to work with Amy. For the first time in her life Amy feels like she is really making friends, but the only one she really connects with is Matthew. Her and Matthew work on things together and the friendship kind of escalates. There is this huge build up to prom where honestly I thought everything was going to work out, but that isn’t where the story ends. The story follows Amy and her computer to college as Matthew tries to get things together by taking a year off.

Overall, I liked the book. There were things I didn’t love. I didn’t love how pushy Amy was about Matthew’s disorder, but without her pushiness I don’t think she would feel like a real person to me. Amy was pushy and Matthew was stubborn and awkward but real people are like that. I wasn’t invested in the story so I didn’t love it, but I did like it.  I think Amy made some pretty bonehead moves but I’m glad that she kind of found her path in the end and I’m glad Matthew started to get more comfortable with himself.

Read this if you would like to expand your horizons a little bit, it was an interesting read.

Leave a Reply

