Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of The Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

IMG_1167

I liked this book, but I didn’t like it as much as I feel like I should have. A few reviews call it a coming of age book and I would have to agree. I don’t think it personally applied to me because I am an 18 year old woman child and I don’t need to accept myself anymore than I already do. I think it maybe isn’t as much of a YA novel as maybe an in between. It just felt a little young for me even though some of the content seems to trend towards older kids.

Aristotle is 16 years old when he meets Dante. They become friends very fast and spend all summer together. Dante’s father gets a job in Chicago and Dante and his family will be living there through the school years. As the summer draws to an end the boys dread Dante leaving.  Over the school year, Dante and Aristotle discover who they are separately. They like both like drinking and Dante gets some party experience living in Chicago. Dante also decided he likes pot and boys. Aristotle is moody. I think he’s a little angst-y and a little to preoccupied with himself and his problems.

Like I said, I liked it but I definitely did not love it.

Leave a Reply

