American Gods by Neil Gaiman

I’m baaaaaaack!

Wow, this book took me forever to read! The fact that I had a lot going on with school and such combined with this book being kind of complex made me feel like I was taking years to read it. But I saw it through and now I can present you with a brand new book review!

American Gods is the story of a man called Shadow and his journey with gods. When the story starts, Shadow is getting out of jail and discovering the death and betrayal of his wife, Laura. On his plane ride back Shadow meets a strange man who knows all about him. That man, named Wednesday, becomes Shadow’s boss. Wednesday is trying to gather an army of the gods of the old days to fight the modern gods. Shadow does a lot of odd jobs and meets a lot of odd people, all while trying to bring his wife back to life.

Honestly, one of the only reasons I could some what follow the gods and the histories was because of the time I spent with Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians. That really only helped me with the Greek Gods though. This book was not an easy read. It was complex and the characters had history and sometimes the stories seemed all tangled up. I have several questions that were left unanswered and several confused theories running around in my brain.

That being said, just because it wasn’t easy doesn’t mean it was not worth it. I really enjoyed it. There was some content that was a little adult, but it is an adult book. The ending was the best part, I loved the plot twists. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys mystery novels and the fantasy genre.

Sorry for taking so long with this post!

Leave a Reply

