The Old Man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway

I finally got around to reading The Old Man and the Sea. 

It is about an old fisherman who goes out every day to fish alone. He respects and loves the sea and the fish that live in it. He has had a bad luck streak and has not caught anything in 84 days. Because of this, the young boy’s parents will not let him fish with the old man. The young boy seems to take care of the old man and he seems to be the closest thing to family the old man has. One day, when the old man is out fishing alone, he struggles to catch the biggest fish he had ever seen.

I like the way this book was written. I liked how the words just seemed to flow along like the waves in the sea. Truthfully, I think a story about fisherman does not sound appealing at all. If it were written by anyone else I don’t I would have read it, but I really wanted to get more familiar with Hemingway and I’m so glad I did. It’s hard to put my finger on exactly what I liked about the book, but I loved the characters. I liked the way the old man was described, how his whole body looked dead and withered but his eyes were alive and as blue as the sea. I liked how the young boy ( who was probably a young adult ) cared so much for the old man.

I didn’t know how to feel about the end, but I don’t know that I was suppose to know.

I am so glad I finally got around to reading this book.

Leave a Reply

