Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

IMG_1062

Yay! I finally jumped on the Jane Austen train! About dang time, right?

Pride and Prejudice is about a family of young girls who are getting ready to be married off. None of the sisters are the same, but three stand out. Jane is the oldest, and also probably the most pleasant. Elizabeth is her father’s favorite, she speaks her mind and doesn’t really care if the men like it. Lydia is crazy and carefree, and that shows in her choices through out the book. It is a social commentary ( I only know this because of a book report I just finished doing ). I think this book really focuses on marriages and the roles of women in the world and in the houses in that time.

I started out hating this book. It was super boring in the beginning, I knew it was a classic but jeez, the beginning was so slow. It inched along, and it felt like all it was talking about was marrying off the daughters. Now, keep in mind that I marathoned reading this book. About halfway through hour two I actually started enjoying it. When Jane went away from home and spent time with the Collins, it got interesting. I liked the gossip that surrounded the Bingleys and the Darcys. By hour three I couldn’t stop. I needed to know if Jane fell in love with Darcy. I needed to know if Bingley came back for Jane. I spent five hours after school reading what I thought was going to be the worst book ever. By now you all realize that I did, in fact, love Pride and Prejudice.

There isn’t much more for me to say, because everyone has already read it. But if, like me, you have been putting it off for new and fun YA novels, get to it. This book was way better than I expected and I loved it.

Leave a Reply

