I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

I finished the book I am Malala yesterday. Although I find it very hard to read nonfiction, I struggled through this whole book anyway. It was a great story and it really opened my eyes to what was going on over there. As a very fortunate American it can be very hard to realize what is really going on around the world, despite my efforts to educate myself on it.

The first part of this book was slow going. It talked a lot about her family and where she came from. I know that it is very important to know all of that in order to understand, but I did have a hard time following it, probably because I was not familiar with the names and there were no dragons.

I really started to get interested when Malala began speaking out. Although it was very dangerous she didn’t worry for herself. She didn’t think the Taliban would kill a little girl. Malala spoke out everywhere and raised money for schools, she even wrote a secret diary for BBC Urdu. Her father encouraged her and was a great support.

After things settled down a bit Malala became paranoid (for a good reason), her father’s friend had been shot. Malala began double checking locked doors and windows. She didn’t stop going to school though, and it was on the bus ride home that she was shot by the Taliban.

Her medical procedures were hard to follow, she moved hospitals a lot and eventually landed in the UK where she lives and studies.

Leave a Reply

